Header Graphic
Summer Scholarship Fund

Meet the 2021 Syracuse University Alumni Club of Washington, D.C. Summer Scholarship Recipients

MAY 19, 2021 -- For the 17th summer, the Syracuse University Alumni Club of Washington, D.C. is providing financial support through its summer scholarship to undergraduates who will spend the summer interning with organizations in the Capitol region. 

Traditionally, the club has raised the majority of funds for the summer scholarship during game watches and club ticket blocks for sporting and cultural events. However, due to public health measures in place due to the pandemic since March 2020, the club has presented only virtual events.

“Year after year, our community in the Washington, D.C. area shows up and supports our summer scholarship in extraordinary ways, and we are tremendously grateful to see that participation and generosity continue throughout the challenges of the pandemic,” Syracuse University Alumni Club of Washington, D.C. Co-Chair Lottie Watts ‘09 said. “Orange alumni, family, friends and fans in our region and beyond came together to make an incredible impact, and we are excited to provide scholarship awards to a group of impressive Syracuse University undergraduates.”


The 2021 scholarship recipients are:

  • Sofia Rossi
  • Isabella Kent
  • Julia Chou

Last year, the alumni club suspended the requirement that an applicant’s summer internship take place in person, and that requirement was also waived for 2021’s scholarship. 

The Syracuse University Alumni Club of Washington, D.C. launched the scholarship in 2005 and has awarded funds to several students throughout the years, helping offset the expenses associated with participating in internships in the region. 


“As someone who benefited from the scholarship when I first interned in Washington, D.C. during summer 2017, I am proud to carry on the legacy of the D.C. alumni club’s signature program,” Syracuse University Alumni Club of Washington, D.C. Co-Chair and Scholarship Committee Chair Andrew Regalado ‘20 said. “Experiential learning is crucial to academic and professional success, and our summer scholarship removes financial barriers that stand between SU students and important internship opportunities.” 


To raise funds for the 2021 scholarship, alumni club chairs planned and hosted a variety of online events, including trivia, mix and mingle bingo and an online silent auction that was made possible by a variety of donated items. Because events were virtual, people participated from cities across the country, greatly expanding the reach of the club.


You’re invited to meet our scholarship recipients and learn more about the Syracuse University Alumni Club of Washington, D.C. at an upcoming virtual event on June 24. Look for more details coming by email and on the club Facebook page and Instagram.


As always, you can give online now in any amount to help future scholarship recipients. 


Current SU undergraduates who are considering internships in the D.C. region for summer 2022 can start to apply for the Syracuse University Alumni Club of Washington, D.C. Summer Scholarship in spring 2022. Information will be posted at SUinDC.org and via our social channels. Questions? Reach us anytime at SUinDC@gmail.com.



Syracuse University Alumni Club of Washington, D.C. Summer Scholarship


Presented by the Syracuse University Alumni Club of Washington, D.C.

Click here to make a secure donation

2021 Recipients:

Sofia Rossi, Isabela Kent and Julia Chou

Past Recipients:

2020 - Mackenzie Mertikas
2020 - Ellie Bodker
2020 - Sofia Donolo
2020 - Miguel Gomez
2020 - Camryn Simon
2020 - Benah Stiewing

2019 - Noah Goldmann
2019 - Joseph Pucciarelli

2018 - Kayla Anderson
2018 - Alexis Alex

2017 - Sara Schleicher
2017 - Andrew Regalado
2016 - Derrick Owens 
2016 - Katharine Barymow
2015 - Michelle Kincaid
2015 - Weston Young
2014 - Alexandra Bauman

2014 - Sibelle Lambiro

2013 - Jesse Feitel
2013 - Ronald J. Taylor

2012 - Ngan Diep
2012 - Jennifer Osias

2011 - Greg Nelson
2011 - Anne Krengel

2010 - Sean Herron
2010 - Jeffrey Barron

2009 - Michael DeSumma
2009 - Chad Brooker

2008 - Brian Holuj
2008 - Andrew Jesmain

2007 - Kevin Hoang
2007 - Sara Covino

2006 - Kathleen DeRitter
2006 - Lauren D'Angelo

2005 - Jennifer Pelton
2005 - Jaisha Wray